Training & events

OCVA trains volunteers, trustees and staff working in voluntary, community and non-profit organisations across Oxfordshire and beyond.

We aim to improve your skills, knowledge and confidence with accredited and non-accredited training; leading to personal and career development.

Why train with us?

Our training sessions are delivered by a friendly team of internal and external experts in their field, with an understanding of the issues that affect the sector. We keep the session fees low as low as possible to ensure sessions are open to all.

To address the complexities of issues affecting the sector our training courses are always changing and evolving to respond to the needs of those who require our services. One of the many ways in which we are trying to improve our services includes making our training mobile, with sessions to be implemented across the county. This is in make certain that all individuals and organisations based outside of the city centre have an easier chance to access our courses.

*Training is VAT exempt.

Current training sessions

We are pleased to be able to provide training sessions online.
These will be done using the Zoom online platform.

Collaboration and partnership working – making it work

Wednesday 22nd September 2021

10.00 am – 1.30 pm

Charity Chairs Checklist

Wednesday 29th September 2021

10.00 am – 11.00 am

Designing and Managing Projects

Wednesday 6th October 2021

10.00 am – 1.30 pm (3.5 hours)

Coaching Skills

Thursday 7th October 2021

10.00 am – 12.00 pm (2 hours)

Introduction to Marketing

Wednesday 13th October 2021

10.00 am – 11.00 am 

Researching and Prioritising Funders

Tuesday 19th October 2021

10.00 am – 12.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Managing Performance

Wednesday 20th October 2021

2.00 pm – 4.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Reframing Conflicts 

Tuesday 26th October 2021

9.15 am – 12.15 pm (2.75 hours with a break midway)

Essentials for the Leader in Raising the Profile of your Organisation

Wednesday 27th October 2021

10.00 am – 12.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Improve Your Talks, Presentations and Speeches 

Thursday 28th October 2021

10.00 am – 12.00 pm (2 hours )

Introduction to Strategy

Wednesday 17th November 2021

10.00 am – 11.00 am ( 1 hour)

Effective People Management 

Thursday 18th November 2021

10.00 am – 12.30 pm (2.5 hours)

Recruiting and Retaining Volunteers

Thursday 25th November 2021

1.00 pm – 3.30 pm (3.5 hours)

Business and Report Writing

Tuesday 30th November 2021

10.00 am – 12.00 pm (2 hours)

Essentials for the Chair in Effective Development and Planning 

Wednesday 1st December 2021

10.00 am – 12.00 pm ( 2 hours)

An Introduction to Volunteering and the Law

Tuesday 7th December 2021

1.00 pm – 3.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Fundamentals of GDPR: Staff awareness for those new to GDPR or needing a refresher

Wednesday 8th December 2021

2.00 pm – 4.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Share with a friend
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email
COVID-19: Support, advice and information for the community
This is default text for notification bar
Skip to content