Training & events

OCVA trains volunteers, trustees and staff working in voluntary, community and non-profit organisations across Oxfordshire and beyond.

We aim to improve your skills, knowledge and confidence with accredited and non-accredited training; leading to personal and career development.

Why train with us?

Our training sessions are delivered by a friendly team of internal and external experts in their field, with an understanding of the issues that affect the sector. We keep the session fees low as low as possible to ensure sessions are open to all.

To address the complexities of issues affecting the sector our training courses are always changing and evolving to respond to the needs of those who require our services. One of the many ways in which we are trying to improve our services includes making our training mobile, with sessions to be implemented across the county. This is in make certain that all individuals and organisations based outside of the city centre have an easier chance to access our courses.

*Training is VAT exempt.

Current training sessions

We are pleased to be able to provide training sessions online and some which will be in person. Please check for more details on each course listed below.
Online courses are run using the Zoom online platform.

Managing Volunteers

Thursday 20th January 2022

1.00 pm – 3.30 pm (2.5 hours)

Looking for a new approach to leading and facilitating groups?

Thursday 27th January 2022

12.30 pm – 3.00 pm (2.5 hours)

Fire Marshal Course

Wednesday 2nd  February 2022

10.00 am – 1.15 pm (3.25 hours)

Introduction to using Social Media effectively

Tuesday 8th February 2022

10.00 am – 12.00 pm (2 hours)

Volunteering and the Law- Intermediate Level

Tuesday 15th February 2022

1.00 pm – 4.00 pm (3 hours)

Building a Successful Funding Strategy – Income Diversification

Tuesday 22nd February 2022

10.00 am – 1.30 pm (3.5 hours)

Effective People Management 

Wednesday 23rd February 2022

10.00 am – 12.30 pm (2.5 hours)

Intermediate Social Media Masterclass

Tuesday 1st March 2022

10.00 am – 12.00 pm (2 hours)

Bid Writing Workshop

Tuesday 8th March 2022

10.00 am – 1.30 pm (3.5 hours)

Coaching Skills

Wednesday 9th March 2022

10.00 am – 12.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Managing Performance

Wednesday 16th March 2022

2.00 pm – 4.00 pm ( 2 hours)

How to be a good Trustee

Thursday 24th March 2022

10.15 am – 1.15 pm ( 3 hours)

Emergency First Aid at Work 

Tuesday 29th March 2022

10.00 am – 5.00 pm ( 7 hours)

Fundamentals of GDPR: Staff awareness for those new to GDPR or needing a refresher

Tuesday 5th April 2022 

2.00 pm – 4.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Effective Development and Planning

Wednesday 6th April 2022 

10.00 am – 12.30 pm ( 2.5 hours)

Raising the Profile of your Organisation

Wednesday 27th April 2022 

10.00 am – 12.30 pm ( 2.5 hours)

The Financial Responsibilities of Treasurers and Trustees

Tuesday 17th May 2022

10.00 am – 12.00 pm ( 2 hours)

An Introduction to Volunteering and the Law

Thursday 7th July 2022

1.00 pm – 3.00 pm ( 2 hours)

Recruiting and Retaining Volunteers

Thursday 19th May 2022

1.00 pm – 3.30 pm ( 2.5 hours)

Share with a friend
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email
COVID-19: Support, advice and information for the community
This is default text for notification bar
Skip to content